Qantas Hong Kong Lounge

Lounge Review: Qantas Hong Kong Lounge

Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Cabin Class:
QF (Qantas)





What's Hot

  • Contemporary design
  • Variety & quality of food
  • Plenty of seats and AC/USB ports
  • Extra perks for Platinum One members

What's Not

  • No dedicated 'quiet zone'


  • BBQ pork, plate of the day and yum cha treats


The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge is the second lounge in the Flying Kangaroo’s new international lounge concept, following Singapore and to be followed in turn by Los Angeles later this year.

As with the Qantas Singapore Lounge this is an ‘integrated’ lounge for business and first class, replacing the airport’s previous two lounges for those passengers (and their Qantas Frequent Flyer equivalents).

Also in common with its Singapore sibling, but even more so, the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge embraces its location in both design and dining.

Those are not the only noticeable improvements. While situated in the same location as the former Qantas First lounge, the new facility is almost twice the size and makes far better use of that space to provide seating for up to 300 passengers without looking like a holding pen.

Location & Impressions

The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge is conveniently located just across from Gate 15, with the three daily Qantas flights leaving from that end of the terminal.

The airport’s Qantas the checkin desks are closest to the terminal’s north entrance, and once through security the lounge is barely a minute’s walk away – take a sharp right turn past the checkpoint and you’ll spy the lounge entry down a narrow walkway.

The lounge is open from 3pm to midnight. While the Qantas flights to Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane have usually left by 8.30pm, the lounge also caters for the two British Airways flights to London which depart at 11.15pm and 11.45pm.

The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge is a long gun-barrel straight stretch but the footprint has been subtly divided into a dozen different spaces or ‘zones’.

The reception area shares the familiar look of the Qantas Singapore Lounge, with podiums rather than long desks to create a more open and welcome feeling and encourage staff to directly engage with passengers.

The floor tiles not only provide a nod to the geometry of Chinese design, they also mimic the vaulted ceilings of Hong Kong Airport itself.

This feature wall adjacent to the entry follows the same cues.

The overall design is contemporary but subtle and clearly influenced by the lounge's location.

Closest to the entrance of the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge is the first of many small but open nooks where travellers can rest up.

Most of the seating here is for solo travellers or couples, although the banquette and seating opposite works well for larger groups.

This leads onto the first dining area and the Spice Temple BBQ Bar, which is clearly the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge’s standout feature.

Named for the Spice Temple restaurants of Qantas’ consulting superchef Neil Perry, it’s a centrepiece for the lounge’s cook-to-order food offerings. (Just don't expect to find the famously ponytailed Perry himself doing the cooking.)

And as the name indicates, it’s also a bar – although that role falls more to the smaller dogleg at the far end of the counter.

Guests can sample a wide selection of wines, beers, spirits and classic cocktails.

(We suggest the lounge’s signature cocktail is worth a try: called Chi Chi, it’s a rum-based hit with pineapple and lime juice, vanilla syrup and kafir lime leaves.)

In addition to tables at either end of the Spice Temple BBQ Bar there’s additional seating in a long strip behind the bar.

This features a stunning panoramic shot of the Hong Kong skyline on one side and a void looking down into the terminal’s public area on the other.

Directly opposite the BBQ Bar is an enclosed bay with several banquettes and chairs.

It’s not intended as a ‘quiet zone’ – in fact, the lounge has no such declared space – but is simply another space which can afford slightly larger groups than couples, if so desired.

Built into the base of the wooden tables between the banquettes are pairs of AC sockets and USB ports.

These combo powerports are also found in the wide round tables set at each corner of the room.

In fact, they’re almost everywhere you look throughout the lounge, and thus almost anywhere you need them.

Back out in the main drag of the lounge, across from the alcohol-centric end of the BBQ Bar, is the first of another type of seating, which lounge designer Felice Carlino from Sumu Design terms a ‘park bench’.

The thick padded seating not only surrounds planters which add a natural element to soften the space, but the back cushions are slightly angled to mirror that relaxing recline of a real park bench.

After this is more seating…

… and more AC/USB socket sets, this time built into the side of the stone ‘mushroom’ tables between the seats.

Continuing along takes you to what could be tagged as the lounge’s restaurant area, although that moniker makes it sound more formal than it really is.

This space includes elongated stone tables, a series of two-person tables and a large round communal dining table.

This is where you’ll want to be to enjoy the plate of the day (more on that later), although directly across from the communal dining table is the self-serve buffet.

Further along is – no prizes for guessing – more seating.

That’s something we love about this lounge. There’s plenty of place to plonk yourself down, but plenty of variety rather than an endless sea of the same chairs.

In this area you’ll find a raised working table with bar stools and more of those combo AC/USB sockets.

There’s also an elongated table that’s great for working, not only because there’s room to spread out a bit but also as there’s a strip of concealed AC/USB sockets.

Across from this is another ‘park bench’ and a large seating bay.

Moving along is a service desk where you can check your flight details and that last-minute upgrade without having to trudge all the way back to the lounge’s entrance.

Adjacent to this is an exit with both elevator and escalator which takes you back down to the departures level near Gate 16.

There’s also a small self-serve drinks area with soft drinks, beer, wine and bubbly, along with coffee, tea and fruit juice.

Walk around the other side and you’ll see another ‘park bench’ set into the wall, which is decorated with a photo of large overhead neon signs from Hong Kong.

There’s one last seating area, and we’ll draw your attention to the black mini-monolith tables next to the chairs.

Yes, they also sport inbuilt AC/USB power ports.

Just behind this is a family zone, sensibly located at the very end of the lounge away from most travellers. It wasn’t complete when we visited the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge at the start of April, but it will be decked out in a similar manner to the Qantas Singapore Lounge.


So who gets through the door? It’s a pretty generous list.

  • Travellers in first and business class on Qantas flights as well as Oneworld partner airlines (this includes ex-HK flights from British Airways, Cathay Pacific, Finnair, Japan Airlines and Malaysia Airlines) and Cathay Pacific's regional offshoot Dragonair.
  • Travellers flying from Hong Kong to Dubai with Qantas partner Emirates in first class and business class plus Skywards Platinum and Gold members
  • Qantas Frequent Flyers with Platinum One, Platinum and Gold status
  • Frequent flyers with Oneworld airlines holding equivalent Emerald and Sapphire status
  • Qantas Club members


The variety and quality of dining options is what really sets the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge apart.

The showpiece is of course the Spice Temple BBQ Bar with its char siu barbecued pork (below), although other dishes and vegetarian options are available.

These dishes are served from 3pm through to 8.30pm, by which time all three daily Qantas flights have left. You can dine at the bar or take a plate back to your seat. We did mention there are plenty of seats?

There’s also a plate of the day served in the main dining area from around 5.45pm to 7.45pm – again, this is timed against the evening’s Qantas flights.

During our visit that plate was the Rangers Valley grain-fed minute steak which is a familiar favourite of visitors to the Sydney and Melbourne Qantas First lounges.

However, the plate of the day is served only to guests sitting at the round dining table and the tables against the walls at either side – if you’re sitting anywhere else in the lounge you’ll miss out.

Then there’s the tray-around or rather trolley-around service which sees dishes offered throughout the lounge between 6pm and 8pm.

The focus here is on light bites such as dumplings with chilli sauce, salt and pepper calamari and Hong Kong-style egg tarts.

Rounding out this feast is the mandatory self-serve buffet with a generous range of mains, salads and desserts.


The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge follows a trend we’re starting to notice in several lounges.

With most travellers these days carrying their own laptops and tablets, dedicated ‘business centres’ with PCs and printer/fax machines are being axed – or their footprint vastly reduced – to provide more space for guests.

The lounge has free and fast wifi which will this month get even faster as Qantas upgrades the Internet connection to a fibre backbone, allowing more passengers to use the Internet at higher speeds during peak periods.

There’s a single HP printer located in a nook near the service desk towards the end of the lounge.

This works over wifi with Apple’s AirPrint system and also HP’s ePrint service which lets you email a document to the printer.

The workbench areas and dining tables are the best work options for travellers who want to hammer away on a laptop, and almost everywhere in the lounge you’ll find AC and USB outlets to keep your tech charged up.


There’s no dedicated quiet zone, although the alcove towards the very end of the lounge with the last ‘park bench’ seating is your best bet.

If you want to freshen up before your flight there are 12 shower suites kitted out with Aurora Spa body wash, shampoo and conditioner.

Something that will make a visit to the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge more relaxing for some will be the special perks extended to Qantas first class travellers, frequent flyers holding Platinum One status and members of the the invitation-only Chairman’s Lounge.

As with the Qantas Singapore Lounge, those high-flying folk get a bit of VIP treatment with free shirt pressing, shoe shine and ‘priority access’ to showers.

(While showers aren’t set aside for them as in Singapore, they’ll be nudged to the top of any waiting list.)


The Qantas Hong Kong Lounge is an impressive addition to the Flying Kangaroo's international lounge network.

There's nothing to stop you walking 10 minutes back towards the southern end of the terminal to visit Cathay Pacific's Wing lounges – we're still quite fond of the Noodle Bar and Coffee Loft in The Wing Business Lounge – but the Qantas Hong Kong Lounge clearly has raised the bar at Hong Kong airport and should satisfy all but the fussiest of flyers.

David Flynn travelled to Hong Kong as a guest of Qantas



  • bryce05


    17 Apr, 2014 06:05 pm

    The wall pattern reminds me of swastikas.

    No member give thanks

  • crosscourt


    17 Apr, 2014 10:55 pm

    You havent mentioned Chairman's Lounge in the access list.

    No member give thanks

  • StA


    18 Apr, 2014 05:50 am

    The choice of char siu pork as a signiture dish is... interesting. It is very common street fare in Hong Kong, and hardly premium. At the same time it is not as well-liked as wanton noddles to make it a comfort food. Hong Kongers would find the choice a bit bizarre. 

    No member give thanks

  • watson374


    18 Apr, 2014 01:01 pm

    I won't pass judgement till I pass through HKG, but I would say that if the selection encompassed a fuller selection of other siu mei dishes (e.g. juicy roast duck) then it would be a big win.

    Noodles are another possibility, of course, but there comes a point where the lounge's Spice Temple may as well be renamed to Cha Chaan Teng.

    No member give thanks

  • Skipp


    18 Apr, 2014 10:25 am

    Great review. Thanks David.

    No member give thanks

  • Lachlan Ford

    Lachlan Ford

    18 Apr, 2014 11:02 am

    Looks excellent.

    No member give thanks

  • 11sjw


    18 Apr, 2014 01:29 pm

    Now if only I could fly their direct from PER to try the lounge out! :-)

    No member give thanks

  • Joshb


    18 Apr, 2014 02:05 pm

    Looks fantastic, to invest this kind of money in QFi at the moment is impressive/much needed and it will be a complete experience when the A330's hard product is up to this standard.

    No member give thanks

  • Yohy


    20 Apr, 2014 08:46 pm

    A bit of a rose tinted review methinks, the disclaimer is a necessity.

    kudos to qantas for trying to do something fresh and compete with CX on their home turf.

    Sadly the new lounge is no competition though for cathay's flagship lounges which look and feel decidedly more 'premium'  than the rough concrete floors and HK style fast food here.

    i do like the rear entrance which shows ingenuity in solving the previous long walks to to the teen gates.

    No member give thanks

  • Mal


    20 Apr, 2014 09:58 pm

    Yohy, I think you'll find that AusBT is very fair-minded in its articles and reviews.

    I wouldn't expect the Qantas Hong Kong lounge to be as good as Cathay Pacific's 'flagship' lounges, on their 'home turf' as you point out, any more than I would expect any lounge at Sydney Airport to be as good as the QF F lounge, and many are not even as good as the QF J lounge. But this is a very good lounge all the same.

    BBQ Pork might be HK 'street food' but so are noodles which CX serves at its Noodle Bar in the CX Wing Business lounge. And I don't think that the 'plate of the day' minute steak would qualify as 'street food'.

    No member give thanks

  • David Flynn

    David Flynn

    21 Apr, 2014 11:36 am

    Hi yohy and welcome to AusBT!

    Re: the 'concrete floors' - that's due to HKIA fire regulations. QF wanted carpet, as per section of their previous HK lounge, but had to settle for concrete and tiles.

    As to the food and lounge itself, I think it's an excellent offering for what is ostensibly a 'business' lounge. Hard to match CX on Cathay's home turf, natch, but I'd suggest this is not Qantas' goal - rather, it's to provide a very good lounge on its own merits for its own passengers, based on Qantas' own 'international lounge' model. Job done, I'd say.

    No member give thanks

  • mickey68


    22 Apr, 2014 10:43 am

    HI David,

    Thanks for the review. I feel you were very balanced in your reporting.

    I had the chance to sample both the new Qantas lounge as well as the Cathay Wing First lounge last night on my return flight to BNE. Maybe it was my fault for visiting the Cathay lounge first, followed by the QF lounge. As others have said, given it has the home port advantage, the Cathay lounge really was the better choice, with, I believe, a better food offering (this was important to me, at least, as I like to eat well in the lounge, and maximise my sleep on the relatively short flight home).

    That said, there was absolutely nothing wrong with the food offer in QF, just not as appealing (too me anyway) as the Cathay lounge. Would have liked some cream to go with the yummy orange cake, lol.

    Thanks for clearing the issue up regarding the cocncrete floors as well. Both myself and my wife both commented that we felt the QF lounge didn't look finished (thought maybe they were in a rush to get it open before Easter perhaps), as well as the general finish of the walls (looked like they needed another coat of paint yet), doors (noticed the emergency exit door was cracked around the bottom), fittings etc. (was surprised to find only 1 hand dryer in the rest rooms for example). I know, I am being picky. The lounges themselves were very comfortable and well arranged.

    Thank you Qantas for this investment, a job well done overall, and I agree it is a fitting lounge for the location. Now, if only Qantas would invest some money in doing up their underwhelming First lounge in BNE....wishful thinking.

    No member give thanks

  • nixjet


    21 Apr, 2014 01:18 pm

    Great review - I'm loving what Qantas is doing in its Asian destinations to both refresh the product and throw in some local flair.  As for the negative comments on this review - makes me wonder just how much flying these people actually do! When QF offers toasted sandwiches and meat pies at home it's menu choices in Asia seem entirely appropriate. I've been in CX Wing a number of times in HKG - vastly different and superior option but why wouldn't it be, I mean it's CX's home port, who competes with QF First in Sydney and Melbourne? Having said that, for cities with a comparatively small number of flights compared to competitors the QF product well and truly stands tall.

    No member give thanks

  • Al Glidden

    Al Glidden

    21 Apr, 2014 02:49 pm

    I agree, I've flown Qantas to Singapore a few times and am pretty impressed by their new Singapore lounge especially with a proper bar and the 'plate of the day' dishes. QF didn't have to go to this much effort with Singapore, sure they needed to do something better than the old J and F lounges but they went further with the new lounge and Hong Kong is the same deal, a lot better than what it replaced and much better than many people might have expected. A business class lounge with meals like this has got to be better than most J lounges around the world! Sure it's not as good as the CX lounges in HKG but be fair, few lounges are better than an airline's home port lounges. CX doesn't even have a lounge in Sydney so come on, comparing QF HK to CX HK is a bit much. With only three flights a day out of HKG for QF this is a pretty good effort, so people who are complaining that it's 'street food' and not as good as CX need to have a bit of a reality check.

    No member give thanks

  • JG


    24 Apr, 2014 05:18 pm

    interesting lounge , used it last night.

    Good points first, liked the steak and pork and the decor is funky and the staff is nice and proffesional

    Average, the individual seats are not as comfortable as the sydney airport ones.

    Would be nice to have a Aussie outlet on the power centres( save using or leaving behind the adapters)

    the tables are fairly small for a drink and a dish

    could be better, signs to the toilets are missing, except a small stand recessed into a corridor,which means when you turn right we all walk past other seats to the WC

    The doors of the women toilets open in , what is illegal in australia, in case of  heart attacks  etc.

    finally I, loved the view looking at the planes, it is really good, but why are only the single seats facing that way, we and another couple fixed this by Turning one 90 degrees around of course.

     Agree with Micky, some of the finishes are not good( finished in a hurry maybe.?)the grouting in the male toiet looks a bitt like grave.I 

    No member give thanks

  • David Flynn

    David Flynn

    28 Apr, 2014 11:40 pm

    "Would be nice to have a Aussie outlet on the power centres (save using or leaving behind the adapters)"

    Indeed it would be, and QF would have loved to have done this, but HK fire & safety regulations prevent that - same reason why the AC outlets in the CX lounges are also HK-style, not 'universal'.

    No member give thanks

  • gippsflyer


    28 Apr, 2014 11:37 pm

    While it'd be lovely having a Qantas First MEL/SYD type lounge in HKG (that would certainly give CX's The Wing First lounge some competition), the fact is the new QF lounge is heaps better than the old one (which was very tired).

    So while First/Platinum travellers might not be spoiled rotten at this lounge (and they can go to The Wing anyway), you've got to say plain old Qantas Club types benefit the most with this much more premium lounge than the old basement club ever was.

    Excellent review David, great pictures too.

    No member give thanks

  • arrigoa2


    30 Apr, 2014 01:29 pm

    Great review and detail, while the Lounge certaininly looks cutting edge, its sad to see they have made the mistake of only providing HK AC outlets and NOT international multiplug as one usally see's in Hotel rooms nowdays.

    No member give thanks

  • David Flynn

    David Flynn

    30 Apr, 2014 02:43 pm

    Arrigoa2, as was mentioned in the comment directly above yours, Hong Kong fire & safety regulations prevent anything but local HK-style AC outlets being installed in the airport lounges. So it's not a 'mistake' on the part of Qantas, it's a restriction imposed by Hong Kong authorities.

    No member give thanks

  • arrigoa2


    30 Apr, 2014 02:59 pm

    Hi David, sure thing, shows how out of touch HK authorities are then, as we have multi point plugs in hotels and even some plane these days. I would well imagine that a dodgy adapter would be more of an issue than a proper multi plug. I guess it is what it is. So a minor issue when compared to how well the lounge will laid out. Many thanks. A

    No member give thanks

  • Robert  K

    Robert K

    1 May, 2014 11:02 pm

    Nothing mentioned on only sparking wines, no champagne, nothing mentioned on the line up for the shower, nothing mentioned on the packed Westfield shopping experience , as a life time gold QF my recomendation use the cathay wing it what a proper lounge was and should be , don't get onboard with the new budget ecconomy every body qantas lounge  strategy , the images look amazing , it's pity reality look different .... Yes I visited it twice last week , the size can cope with flight schedule , I will be sipping proper champagne , space and my global experience in July in the  cathays wing .... Don't miss it trust me you won't be sorry 

    No member give thanks

  • Alvin Tse

    Alvin Tse

    10 May, 2014 11:11 am

    Cool, since the open to terminal area shows gate 15 people can have a nice meal/relax while watching SQ's A380 if they're in between 13:30 to 15:20.

    No member give thanks

  • pprofpopp


    26 May, 2014 07:56 pm

    Great review. Maybe this would have coloured my judgment that put the Cathay Wing lounge way ahead.

    I had a full day layover a few days ago at HK so could 'road test' the Wing Lounge first class in the morning and Qantas after 3pm.

    The Wing's 'restaurant' with a la carte and buffet offerings were excellent and its comfort levels seemed higher. BUT....whoever designed those black bathrooms!!!!!  ye gods, I should have taken a miners helmet with me to see where I was going.  Not for the visually chalenged :-)

    Like many others I read here, re the Qantas floors, it looked half-finished and generally not as impressive and 'warmly welcoming' as say the Melb and Sydney first lounges.

    I missed the 'gourmet BBQ' sections somehow and went for the buffet which seemed pretty ordinary bits of roast chicken with usual accompaniments.  RE choice, I went back to the Cathay Wing lounge later in the afternoon and then back to the QANTAS lounge for a shower in the evening before my late flight out.  The shower was a joy but back at the buffet, the dishes hadn't changed at all.  Same menu all day?

    You could never say the new QANTAS lounge was 'bad' in any way, but I think the Cathay Wing takes the honours.

    No member give thanks

  • Ming Tak Poon

    Ming Tak Poon

    28 Oct, 2015 08:07 pm

    Does anyone knows that the additional dining options (Plate of the Day, Spice Temple BBQ Bar, Dim Sum Trolley) got extended hours due to introduction of the second HKG-SYD flight QF118 (departs 9:35PM on Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu)?

    No member give thanks

  • lawrence huynh

    lawrence huynh

    17 Jul, 2016 12:46 pm

    Hey are there any arrival lounges from quantas?  can i go to the business lounge when i arrive to the HK airport from sydney, or its just for departure only?

    No member give thanks

  • Chris Chamberlin

    Chris Chamberlin

    17 Jul, 2016 04:19 pm

    Hi Lawrence, as has already been replied to your other message, no. No lounge access on arrival when flying Qantas into HK.

    No member give thanks


21 Oct, 2016 08:00 pm


Forgot Password

If you’ve forgotten your password, simply enter your email address below, then click 'Submit'. We’ll send you an email to re-activate your account and enter a new password.