The Australian Financial Review comes to the iPad

The Australian Financial Review comes to the iPad

Like most travellers and frequent flyers, the Australian Business Traveller team are fans of quality digital media – especially when it comes to newspapers and magazines.

For example, when overseas I enjoy downloading the latest news from The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian onto my iPad and browsing it over breakfast, at the airport lounge or en route to whatever press event I’m attending (no matter what timezone I’m in).

And Saturdays are a real treat because of the extra content packed into in the weekend editions. There’s a good few hours in all that, and as the apps let you read offline they’re great for inflight reading.

As it happens, only last month I added The Australian Financial Review to my Saturday reading list at the local cafe for very much the same reason – as well as the fact that only on Saturday do I have time to enjoy a deep dive into the papers.

And while I’m by no means into ‘finance’ or the markets, the AFR’s got plenty else to appeal, from its business backbone to sections on the likes of marketing, technology (featuring John Davidson, one of Australia’s best and most readable tech reviewers), travel, motoring and design.

Now the ‘Fin has woven itself a little more into my week with the release of an iPad app.

A familiar (inter)face

The AFR app immediately looks familiar because it was cooked up  by the same Fairfax team behind the elegant SMH and Age apps.

Like those capital city siblings, the AFR sports a classy made-for-iPad design with an elegant layout, responsive tap-and-swipe interface plus embedded multimedia.

There’s a caveat here: although the app is free to download, you’ll need a subscription to pull down any actual content (apart from the  few articles on the home screen).

Anyone can download the app and view articles from the front screen but to experience the full app they will need to verify they have a Financial Review subscription within the app.

That’s more in keeping with The Australian and many other newspapers and magazines compared to SMH & Age twins, where the content remains free.

A digital subscription to the AFR cost $59 a month, although you can sample the app with full content during a 14 day free trial (which means signing up for a subscription and then cancelling it within a fortnight).

It’s also available for free if you subscribe to the Australian Financial Review in print or the afr.com website.

For more details, click to afr.com/app.

Psst – want a free AFR sub?

We’ve got two digital subscriptions to the Australian Financial Review (valued at $680 each) to give away to two AusBT readers.

Just leave a comment below explaining in 25 words or less what you like most about ‘digital newspapers’. The contest closes at 5pm EST on Tuesday June 5th, 2012.

 
 

16 Comments

  • chrisbrownie

    chrisbrownie

    29 May, 2012 01:20 pm

    No ink all on fingers,  in turn all over clothes. Secondly: I can carry two hundred of them without looking like a crazy person.

    No member give thanks

  • Al Glidden

    Al Glidden

    29 May, 2012 01:41 pm

    'Offline reading' is a win on a plane, in a long customs line and for catching up on news between meetings etc.

    No member give thanks

  • ab3fr0man

    ab3fr0man

    29 May, 2012 01:42 pm

    You can always take the paper with you everywhere without disturbing others while turning pages.

    No member give thanks

  • lmbasell

    lmbasell

    29 May, 2012 02:06 pm

    Reading broadsheet papers on my ipad while travelling is as good as it gets.

    No member give thanks

  • Smithy

    Smithy

    29 May, 2012 02:10 pm

    No weight in the hand luggage. Updated stories day or night north or south hempishere & on the money forex rates at your fingertips.

    No member give thanks

  • spinoza

    spinoza

    29 May, 2012 02:29 pm

    Saves paper, saves trees. Helps businesses be carbon neutral and reduce effects of climate change.

    No member give thanks

  • fxdxdy

    fxdxdy

    29 May, 2012 03:04 pm

    I'd like a digital AFR subscription so I can read it without people realising and thinking I'm a knob

    No member give thanks

  • EllisT

    EllisT

    29 May, 2012 03:16 pm

    I love being able to flick through the pages quickly, and diving in for a closer look at the articles that are of most interst to me.

    No member give thanks

  • ozavanti

    ozavanti

    29 May, 2012 03:45 pm

    No more having to turn the paper back on itself, trying to stop knock arms with the person next to you on the plane.

    No member give thanks

  • rob01

    rob01

    29 May, 2012 06:44 pm

    So much easier to read in small spaces (like a plane seat), and it just looks damn cool.

    No member give thanks

  • wil300081

    wil300081

    29 May, 2012 06:51 pm

    Convenience of being able to access current days news anywhere in the world, and helping the environment with less waste in printing a paper copy.

    No member give thanks

  • TheSuit

    TheSuit

    29 May, 2012 07:20 pm

    The satisfaction of swiping over articles and opinion you disagree with using little to no effort!

    No member give thanks

  • Jabiru

    Jabiru

    29 May, 2012 08:08 pm

    Good excuse to buy an iPad!

    No member give thanks

  • David Flynn

    David Flynn

    29 May, 2012 10:10 pm

    Hey guys, voting somebody else's entry down won't make a spit of difference to whom we choose! :)

    No member give thanks

  • pantone801

    pantone801

    30 May, 2012 12:06 pm

    The embedded media- being able to watch an interview (see tone of voice and expressions) and read the analysis in the same article.

    No member give thanks

  • RTWFF

    RTWFF

    30 May, 2012 07:13 pm

    Completely useless for many. We get several print copies of the AFR in the office during the week. However when I go home or to another city on the weekend, there is no such thing as a digital-only-Saturday-only subscription or the ability to buy one-off downloads on any day including Saturdays. Nice try, no cigar as yet

    No member give thanks

Guest

6 Dec, 2016 01:34 am

×
×

Forgot Password

If you’ve forgotten your password, simply enter your email address below, then click 'Submit'. We’ll send you an email to re-activate your account and enter a new password.

×